Font Size

Government Finance Profession Awards 2008


Business Articles
Submit Articles   Back to Articles

17 November 2008 

The Government Finance Profession (GFP) is delighted to announce the winners of the twelve awards for excellence in financial management presented on Thursday 13 November at a ceremony in Brighton.

The award winners were:

Name Dept Category
David Watkins Foreign and Commonwealth Office   Outstanding Contribution to the Profession
Financial Reporting Team Ministry of Justice  Finance Team of the Year
Finance & MI Team Department for Work & Pensions Finance Team of the Year
Emily Robertson Department for Transport  Part Qualified of the Year
Jonathan Knott  Foreign and Commonwealth Office  Newly Qualified of the Year
Valerie Vaughan-Dick  Ministry of Justice  Personality of the Year
Abul Chowdhury  Serious and Organised Crime Agency Boss of the Year
Martin Jacobs  Maritime & Coastguard Agency Mentor of the Year
Financial Inclusion Team  Department for Work and Pensions Innovation in Government
Zarnigar Akhtar Serious and Organised Crime Agency  Project Manager of the Year
Sustainability Development Team  Department for Work and Pensions  Sustainability Award
Sue Walker  HM Prison Service  Unsung Hero
David Swift  HM Revenue & Customs  Head of Professionís Lifetime Achievement Award


  1. This year, there were two Finance Team of the Year awards. Dave Willis, Director collected the award on behalf of the Finance & MI Team within the Child Support Agency. Andrew Tribe collected the award on behalf of the Financial Reporting Team at the Ministry of Justice.
  2. The award for Innovation in Government was collected by Colin Purtill who leads the  Financial Inclusion Team at Department for Work and Pensions. 
  3. The award for Sustainability was collected by Richard Fountain who leads the Sutainability Development Team at Department for Work and Pensions.
  4. The Government Finance Profession represents the 8,500 strong community of qualified and trainee accountants in central government. The awards were presented at the GFP conference on 13 November, in conjunction with the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants; the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants; the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy, Deloitte, Ernst & Young; NQ Magazine and PQ Magazine.

About the Author

© Crown Copyright. Material taken from HM-Treasury. Reproduced under the terms and conditions of the Click-Use Licence.

Follow us @Scopulus_News

Article Published/Sorted/Amended on Scopulus 2008-11-18 10:55:03 in Business Articles

All Articles

Copyright © 2004-2021 Scopulus Limited. All rights reserved.